Members of the Council of Experts

The Council of Experts on Climate Change is composed of five members.

The members of the Council of Experts on Climate Change are appointed by the Federal Government as of 01.09.2020 for a period of five years. The Council is bound only by the mandate established by the Federal Climate Change Act and is independent in its activities.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning (Chairman)

Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (ISE) and Professor for Solar Energy Systems at the Institute for Sustainable Technical Systems at the University of Freiburg.

Dr. Brigitte Knopf (Deputy Chairwoman)

Secretary General at the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC), Berlin. Her areas of responsibility include German and European energy and climate policy as well as cooperation with universities and stakeholders from politics, business and civil society.

Prof. Dr. Marc Oliver Bettzüge

Professor with a chair in Economics at the University of Cologne and Managing Director of the Energy Economics Institute (EWI).

Prof. Dr. Thomas Heimer

Professor of Innovation Management at the Department of Engineering at RheinMain University of Applied Sciences in Rüsselsheim and Scientific Director of Technopolis Deutschland GmbH, a research and consulting company for innovation and technology policy.

Dr. Barbara Schlomann

Scientific Advisor to the Executive Director at the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI), Karlsruhe.